Review: Sonic Superstars explained to parents (Preview)

Sonic Superstars Featured Ecran Partage

What parents need to know

Sonic Superstars is a new version of the classic 2D platformer, to be released on October 17, 2023. It features 3D decors, new powers, and new game mechanics.

Players can choose to control Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, or Amy to explore the Northstar Islands. The characters’ goal is to prevent Dr. Eggman, Fang, and a mysterious armored opponent to turn the islands’ giant animals into Badniks.

Each character has unique talents and, thanks to the Chaos Emeralds, has access to special powers such as ascending waterfalls, multiplying oneself, and slowing down time. Up to 4 people can play Sonic Superstars in co-op mode, and up to 8 can play in online Combat mode.

This game is considered appropriate for an audience of all ages.


Release date: 17 October 2023
Developer: SEGA
Publisher: SEGA
Available on: Steam PC, Epic Games Store PC, Nintendo Switch, Playstation 4, Playstation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series
Available format: Physical and digital
Game genre: Platform, Action, Multiplayer, Party, 2D
Themes covered: Action, adventure, cartoon, platform
Text languages: German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian,
Voice languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian,

Level of experience required

Age 3+ 7+ 12+ 16+ 18+


This game does no feature scary scenes or particularly violent parts. Sonic and his friends are anthropomorphic animals.

There is no explicit content.

There are few texts to read and the level of language is simple.

It is a cooperative game that encourages players to help each other and to complete the levels together.

It is required to purchase the game once, and it is possible to purchase additional content: a Lego-themed DLC.

Local game modes

Up to 4 people can play in co-op mode locally.

Online Game Modes

Up to 8 people can compete against each other online.

Expansions/Add-ons (DLC)

An expansion (DLC) has been announced: LEGO® Fun Pack. It contains a LEGO appearance for Tails, Amy, and Knuckles as well as additional levels in the same theme for the Combat mode. This content is, however, included in the Deluxe Edition and in the Digital Deluxe Edition upgrades.


Leave a Reply